• IN PRAISE OF SLOWNESS

    AN INSPIRATIONAL LECTURE!

    AGAINST OUR "ROAD-RUNNER CULTURE"

    "These days even instant gratification takes too long."

    "And my wake-up call came when I started reading bedtime stories to my son, and I found that at the end of day, I would go into his room and I just couldn't slow down -- you know, I'd be speed reading "The Cat In The Hat." I'd be -- you know, I'd be skipping lines here, paragraphs there, sometimes a whole page, and of course, my little boy knew the book inside out, so we would quarrel. And what should have been the most relaxing, the most intimate, the most tender moment of the day, when a dad sits down to read to his son, became instead this kind of gladiatorial battle of wills, a clash between my speed and his slowness. And this went on for some time, until I caught myself scanning a newspaper article with timesaving tips for fast people. And one of them made reference to a series of books called "The One-Minute Bedtime Story." And I wince saying those words now, but my first reaction at the time was very different. My first reflex was to say, "Hallelujah -- what a great idea! This is exactly what I'm looking for to speed up bedtime even more." But thankfully, a light bulb went on over my head, and my next reaction was very different, and I took a step back, and I thought, "Whoa -- you know, has it really come to this? Am I really in such a hurry that I'm prepared to fob off my son with a sound byte at the end of the day?"

    http://www.ted.com/talks/carl_honore_praises_slowness 

    REMARQUE "TERRE A TERRE": UTILE POUR REVOIR LES COMPARATIFS ET SUPERLATIFS!

    FASTER/ SLOWER

     

     

    « AMAZING CHEAP HOMESRECIPES FOR A PERFECT PUMPKIN PIE + OTHERS »
    Partager via Gmail Yahoo! Google Bookmarks